How do I get a Car Accident Report in Florida?

Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is the state government agency that keeps all official car accident reports on file. You can get a copy of your car accident report online from the Florida Crash Portal. You also can get a copy of a car accident report by mail or in person.

The Florida Crash Portal provides all the information that you need about how to get a car accident report in Florida. This site also provides other important information about reporting car accidents and getting access to information about crashes in the state.

Getting Your Car Accident Report From FLHSMV

You can get your car accident report online, by mail, or in person. You must pay a fee of $10.00 for a copy of each separate report that you request. You can only request up to ten accident reports in one transaction. You also must pay a $2.00 convenience fee for each transaction if you request a report online by using a credit card.

Once you pay for the report, you can download it right away. You will receive a link to download the report at the email address that you provide when you request the report. You must download the report within 48 hours of requesting it.

Getting Your Report Online

You can purchase car accident reports online from the FLHSMV crash portal for $10.00. It can take up to ten days after an accident for an accident report to become available online. Car accident reports are not available to the general public for 60 days after an accident. However, people involved in the accident can get the accident reports at any time.

Getting Your Report By Mail

If you want to request a car accident report by mail or in-person within 60 days of the accident, you must complete a Sworn Statement to Obtain Crash Report form. You then must mail this form, along with your payment by check or money order made payable to “FLHSMV,” to the following address:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Crash Records

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28

Tallahassee, FL 32399

If you want to get ten or more car accident reports in Florida, you must mail a letter identifying the reports that you are requesting, the Sworn Statement to Obtain Crash Report form, and the appropriate payment to the same address. It will take about four to six weeks to get the accident reports that you requested.

Getting Your Report in Person

If you want to get ten or fewer car accident reports, you can request them in person at your nearest Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) Troop Station. You will need to present the Sworn Statement to Obtain Crash Report form at the time of your request if it is within 60 days of the accident.

If You Cannot Find Your Car Accident Report in the Florida Crash Portal

If your accident happened more than ten days ago and you cannot find your car accident report in the Florida Crash Portal, you can contact the law enforcement agency that investigated your crash. That agency can give you a copy of the report.

Self-Reporting a Minor Car Accident to FLHSMV

Law enforcement agencies only make an accident report for crashes that involve injuries, death, DUI, a hit and run driver, commercial vehicles, a vehicle being towed from the scene, and more than $500 in damage. If you are involved in an accident involving property damage that law enforcement agencies are not required to report, you may be able to self-report the accident to FLHSMV.

A driver can submit an accident report online or by mail. If you want to submit a driver accident report online to FLHSMV, you must complete the Driver Report of a Traffic Crash form and email it to: SelfReportCrashes@flhsmv.gov. If you want to submit a driver accident report by mail, you must download and complete the Driver Report of a Traffic Crash. Then, print the form out, date and sign it, and mail it to the following address:

Crash Records

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28

Tallahassee, FL 32399

When you self-report an accident to FLHSMV, you should be sure to keep a copy of the report for your own records. Your insurance company also may want a copy of the report.

Contact Us for Help

Whether you need to know how to get a car accident report in Florida or what legal rights you have following a crash, we are here to help. Find out what steps you need to take to protect yourself after a car accident.

Deadlines may apply to any legal claim you have, so getting legal advice right away is important. Contact Distasio Law Firm today  and learn more about the legal services that we can offer you.

OUR OFFICES

Our main office is in Tampa. Wesley Chapel and Largo offices are available by appointment only.

Distasio Law Firm
N/a